History of Sweetwater
Archaeological evidence indicates that people have lived on the Sweetwater property since at least 3,000 BC. Multiple Native American groups, identified largely by the distinctive pottery types they made resided at Sweeter during the subsequent millennia. Around 1675 Richard Quintyne, a merchant and one of the first settlers in the Charleston area came from Barbados to build the Quintyne Plantation on this property. Henry Quintyne took over this land in 1695, and several subsequent generations managed the growing plantation. Following the Civil War and the plantation economy the property was used for timber production and small scale farming.
William J. "Bill" Detyens, an inductee into the South Carolina Business Hall of Fame, purchased the property in 1957. He initially used it for his ship repair business and called it Beresford Creek Yard. When the business moved to a site on the Wando River in 1692 (where it was incorporated as Detyens Shipyards, Inc.), Mr. Deryens and this family then used the property as a personal residence , which they called "Rebellion Farms". The name Rebellion Farms was inspired by a race horse "Rebellion" that was kept on the property. The Propes family purchased the property in 2003. The Propes family, who own Colonial Candle, one of the world's largest manufacturers of candles, continued to use the property as a personal residence.
Kassinger Development Group ("KDG") purchased the property in 2013. KDG kept all of the natural beauty of the property, waterfall and surroundings intact while building one of Charleston's only true waterfront deep water accessible communities. KDG develops and owns communities throughout the Southeastern U.S. They take pride in providing energy efficient luxury homes in great locations in the Southeast while maintaining the natural beauty and unique character of each location.